It’s the He-man Woman Haters Club at Augusta National Golf Club

Today I read a couple stories on PMSNBC and Fox News and I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s ludicrous that, in the year 2012, Augusta National Golf Club doesn’t allow female members. That joint has been in business since 1933 and has never allowed a woman to be a member? That’s sooooo sexist! The place should be forced to allow anyone to be a member should they so desire.

Actually I only agree with the text in red.

I know nothing of golf; I’m not a fan. I’m not terrible at putt-putt, but I’m pretty sure that doesn’t count.

I remember hearing stories in the past about women not being allowed to play golf at Augusta. Never thought anything of it… Some of my buddies at work, however, are golf fans. Today they were talking about how Augusta gets picketed and talking heads talk about it being an “old boys club.”

So I did some research….

Augusta has been a private club since it’s inception. Nobody applies to join the club and gets turned down. Members become members by invitation only. Today, current chairman of Augusta, Billy Payne said, “All issues of membership have been and are subject to private deliberations of the members.” It sounds like, if they lose a member or want to add another, they have a meeting; the members and the chairman decide who to invite into their private club. It seems pretty simple to me.

Apparently it’s not that simple to our current Commander Nitwit in Chief. Today, White House press secretary, Jay Carney said, “He (Obama) believes Augusta should admit women. Kind of long past the time when women should be excluded from anything.” He added that Obama thinks it’s “up to the club to decide,” but that Obama told him he personally thinks women should be welcome.

Derp, derp...

Shut up, shut up, SHUT UP! I know, you’re just trying to grab more women voters.

And because I can “cross the aisle” politically…. Here comes Mitt Romney:

When asked his thoughts about Augusta after the White House chimed in on it Mitt Said, “Well of course, I’m not a member of Augusta. I don’t know if I would qualify (ed. ~ there are no qualifications, Mitt. Augusta invites who they want) — my golf game is not that good — but certainly if I were a member and if I could run Augusta which isn’t likely to happen but of course I’d have women in Augusta. Sure.”

You SHUT UP too, Mitt!

If it were my club…. I’m not certain what I would do. Maybe I would start a club up the street in which we only invite women! Like these women:

And to all you women who think you can just picket or whine your way into an organization that you perceive is just for men… try to get into Chippendales or Thunder from Down Under.

Leave a Reply

