“I smell varmint poontang. And the only good varmint poontang is dead varmint poontang, I think.”

The quote in the headline is none other than Carl Spackler of “Caddyshack”; one of my all time favorite movies and pretty much all I knew about golf.. Well maybe that and “Happy Gilmore”!

Until this past Thursday, that is. In doing some research for a post about Augusta National Golf Club my attention, as is usual, wandered about the interwebs. I absorbed much more golf information than I had anticipated; and I wanted to know more.

Then Friday rolls around and we only had a half day at work… I ran a couple quick errands and returned home. Shortly after that, my buddy Chad texts me that he’s heading up to the bar; asked me to come up. Chad is a huge fan of golf, so I knew he was headed to Panini’s to watch the second round of The Masters Tournament. I figured I’d go up for a bit, watch some golf, and pick Chad’s brain a little bit about the game.

What was supposed to be a couple beers and a few questions pretty much turned into a four hour discussion about the various facets of the game of golf. It’s a very mathematical game in which mechanics obviously play the main role. On several shots, Chad explained the numerous calculations the player had to make in his head; then said player has to execute… perfectly. I was fascinated! I’m definitely gonna try golf this summer. Chad seems to think, with my mathematical prowess and better than average strength, I’ll do alright. I’ve got no clue…. but I’m sure it’ll be fun trying! At the very least, having me on the course will make Chad more confident about his game!

After the four hours of golf I watched Friday, I watched another three hours yesterday. Yeah… I watched seven hours of professional golf in two days. Prior to this weekend, I think I watched seven minutes… my entire life! AND… I’m gonna watch today’s coverage which just started!

See… this is what happens when NASCAR and NHRA take a weekend off. My mind wanders.

Don’t get me wrong, though, I’m excited for next weekend’s racing action! NASCAR heads to Texas, which is a very fast track that always provides great racing. And the top two series will be racing under the lights! So Danica will be screwing up on Friday night! Night racing is way more exciting to watch than day races.

NHRA will be in Charlotte, NC for the 3rd annual Four-wide Nationals; and that’s not a reference to trailer park homes, assholes. It’s this:

It’s crazy racing, to say the least. DAMN… I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

