NASCAR Week Twelve Update! Danica Drives Like Most Women Do…. And NHRA Update.

This week was a different sort of week for NASCAR… Technically, the Sprint Cup series was off, as Saturday night was their All Star Race (doesn’t count towards the championship; just a money race) at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Charlotte is a 1.5 mile “D-shaped” oval. It’s a beautiful facility that also includes a .4 mile clay oval a.k.a. “The Dirt Track” and a jacked up NHRA dragstrip called zMax Dragway. I spoke of zMax before when the NHRA was there for their “Four Wide Nationals”.

Fireworks before the all star race.

The All Star Race is a pretty cool event; I’ve been to it… but that’s a fun/scary story for another time. I’ll try to make this as simple to understand as possible, but here’s how participants get into the All Star Race:

  • Must have won a race last year or so far this year.
  • Must be a NASCAR champion within the last 10 years.
  • Must have been an All Star Race winner within the last 10 years.
  • Must be the winner and runner-up from the heat race that precedes the All Star Race.
  • Must be the one driver voted in by fans.

Since Dale Earnhardt Jr. hasn’t won a race since 2008, or a championship, or an All Star Race he had to fulfill one of the other above criteria. And he did… he won the Sprint Showdown; the heat race before the All Star Race.

Dale Jr. finished fourth. Jimmie Johnson won it…. God that dude bugs me….

Cool view of a stupid car and a stupider driver!

… I’ll have to get into my disdain for Johnson another time. For now… he won another race. I said this was a money race…. dude won a million bucks by finishing first. Good job douche!

The Nationwide Series raced yesterday at Iowa Speedway. Iowa is a cute little 7/8 mile speeday located in Newton Iowa.

This track was designed by my favorite driver ever, Rusty Wallace!

My two featured drivers for this race, Austin Dillon and the lovely, non sex symbol, Danica Patrick rolled off sixth and ninth respectively. As usual, Austin ran a nice, consistent race and ran up front all day. He finished fourth… his sixth top five in 10 races!

Danica, though…. ugh… she aggravates me. She slowly fell back after the start of the race, not competing at all; just hanging in there. Shortly after she went a lap down, a caution came out. Based on NASCAR rules Danica, being the first car a lap down, got put back on the lead lap. Everyone pitted and, like thirty laps later, Danica blew a front right tire and hit the wall hard, taking her out of the race.

Here’s the thing… Danica was in danger of going a lap down again when she mysteriously suffered a cut tire. I say “mysteriously” because most times there’s a reverse angle that shows the flat tire prior to impact. No such footage with Danica, though. The commentators said she may have been too hard on the brakes during the race, thus causing excessive heat that could have melted the tire off the rim. I believe this because the women I know are hard on brakes… on normal cars!

The other thing; any team contending for a championship will do everything they can to get the car back on the track to preserve precious points. That wasn’t the case with the Go Daddy Chevrolet! They shut it down so they could go home and potentially prevent Danica from going multiple laps down… again.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., an appropriately named NASCAR driver, won the race. This was his third win of the season…

Kick ass picture!

Numbers after week twelve:

Austin…

Starts Wins Top 5 Top 10 Avg. Start Avg. Finish
10 0 6 8 5.1 7.3

Dale…

Starts Wins Top 5 Top 10 Avg. Start Avg. Finish
11 0 4 8 14.5 8.4

Danica…

Starts Wins Top 5 Top 10 Avg. Start Avg. Finish
10 0 0 1 16.5 20.9
As far as NHRA goes…. I really want Courtney Force to do well. I do! But she’s struggling…. I know she’s a rookie this year, so I’ll continue to hang on.
Yesterday, in Kansas, she was eliminated in the first round. Most of it was her slow reaction time, again… So now I’m forced to post the bikini pic that she sent me last year.. I’m sorry Court… I warned you about this…
Courtney… I promise I won’t post the other, naked, pictures you sent me…. unless you pick up your game….
Next week, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series remains in Charlotte, NC for the Coca Cola  600 on Sunday night. The Nationwide series will run on Saturday.
Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

