I CALLED IT! BW3 IS QB1!

To translate that into English, Cleveland Browns coach Pat Shurmer named rookie quarterback Brandon Weeden (BW3) the starting quarterback (QB1) a little bit ago.

Brandon Weeden with Browns new owner, Jimmy Haslam III and his wife Dee

I predicted this after watching practice on Saturday. Trust me, I’m no encyclopedia of football knowledge, just an observant fan. ANY Browns fan with half a brain (which is some of ’em) knew that the Browns weren’t gonna use their 22nd pick in April’s draft on Weeden without knowing ahead of time that he’d be starting for us.

Think of the talent evaluators who were involved in the Weeden pick…. Browns President Mike Holmgren, who sort of knows quarterbacks (see Brett Favre and Matt Hasselback), and General Manager Tom Heckert, who has an okay eye for talent. During his time at Philadelphia he had a hand in drafting some better than average players: kicker David Akers, defensive lineman Trent Cole, wide receiver DeSean Jackson, offensive lineman Jason Peters, cornerback Asante Samuel and fullback Leonard Weaver.

Heckert has done well in his drafts with the Browns; shutdown corner Joe Haden being the most notable at this point. But d-linemen Phil Taylor and Jabaal Sheard look promising. If safety TJ Ward and running back Montario Hardesty remain healthy, they’re pretty dangerous as well.

UH-OH… Heckert was with us in 2010 when we drafted Colt McCoy.. Well that turned out to be a shitty pick… I’m blaming it on then coach Eric Mangini, because he was a douche!

Anyway, what does Colt McCoy think of not being named the starter?

The huddle is this way, buddy!

On no first-team reps: I would like to say that I haven’t taken any snaps in walk thru or in practice with the first group. I have come out here and made myself better with the reps I’ve got and I feel really good and really healthy and I look forward to some preseason games coming up pretty quick.

You had two years of snaps in real live games with the first group…. and, though you had some flashes of talent, you ultimately sucked!

On it not being a fair shot: I thought coming in it would be a competition. But again I’ve come out here and competed my tail off and I’ve really worked hard to get better and improve and I know I have and I know our team has. So from that standpoint I am OK.

It was a competition! I saw some of that competition on Saturday… Seneca Wallace looked better than you!

On if he wants to be traded: Look, I learned the news just like you did. I learned right before practice, I came to practice, I worked hard and got better. I’m excited about the preseason and we’ll see what happens.

You have very little, if any, trade value. Until Blaine Gabbert of Jacksonville gets hurt…

On if he saw any way he could win the job: Look guys, it is what it is. I came out here and competed and worked hard. Trust me, you will continue to get the best that I can do. I love Cleveland, I love the fans, I love this place, I love my teammates. That would be so wrong of me to (not) give my best. I have worked hard on so many things from last year. I feel really good and I’m excited about the preseason, but they did name Brandon the starter.

Sorry, dude, your best wasn’t good enough. Weeden looks better, with less experience…

On No. 2 job being up for grabs: Hey, look I told you every day how I approach my job. As a professional I work hard. I get here early, last one to leave and I’ll continue to do that. I want to do my best and we’ll see what happens.

Seneca Wallace will be QB2. You’ll be gone…

On his mindset: You have to take it as a professional. I have approached my job like I was a starter and I will continue to do that as a professional.

“Was” is right… you “were” the starter. Now you’re not. Heck, you’re not even the backup yet… Good luck to you in Jacksonville!

For those of you who witnessed me supporting Colt McCoy the last couple years… WHAT ELSE AM I GONNA DO? When Colt is the only option we have I’m gonna support him! Now that there’s a better option in Weeden, I’m going that route. This is why I don’t own player jerseys.

Can’t wait to see how the Browns starters look for one or two series against the Lions on Friday!

Hug your children and love them every day

Leave a Reply

