Hi-fi Friday ~ Aerosmith!!!

I’ve always maintained that my top three favorite bands are Aerosmith, KISS and Van Halen.

The funny thing is that I didn’t get into Aerosmith until late in the game. I was a KISS and Van Halen fan for quite some time… I had no clue who Aerosmith was until I saw this video on MTV back in 1986..

After finding out who the rock band was with the crazy, wailing lead singer, I started picking up some of their older material, on cassette (HA HA!). I was hooked, and have been ever since!

Man… go ahead and Google the history of Aerosmith… These dudes are lucky to be alive today, let alone performing at the top of their game after over 40 years in the business. Drugs, breakups, drugs, drugs, falling off stages, drugs and American Idol have driven these guys apart multiple times over the years.

Regardless, they’re together now and they’re still at it.. and, on Tuesday, they released their first studio album of all new material in eleven freakin’ years!

I read several reviews of it before I got to listen to it myself, and these people were way off base, in my opinion. The common theme was that the material on the album was too wide ranging… What do you expect from a band who’s been around for 42 years; working on an album for the last six years?

The name of the new album is ‘Music From Another Dimension!” and it’s freakin’ awesome!

Yes.. it does cover a wide range of Aerosmith sounds… Bluesy… Hard rock, Jazz, Ballads… nothing is missed. The sound is all over the map, but it’s new Aerosmith so how could anyone complain??

To be quite honest, I wasn’t impressed with the couple songs featuring Joe Perry on lead vocals. Perry’s songs always sound… weird… I’m sorry Joe! But your guitar work is phenomenal from start to finish.

Here’s a track listing… including my commentary..

1.) “LUV XXX”

Old, old Aerosmith sound, complemented by some killer Joey Kramer percussion. “Love three times a day…” Who wouldn’t?

2.) “Oh Yeah”  

Not terrible, but not great…. Sounds like ’70s Aerosmith. Nice solo by Joe Perry in this one…

3.) “Beautiful”  

This is a mashup song of varying speeds and sounds. It’s good… Kind of funky… I can’t tag this one with a specific era…

4.) “Tell Me”

This one could be right off of 1993’s ‘Get a Grip’. Classic guy loves girl/girl no longer loves guy ballad. “I think it’s time to realize it’s done/ I guess I have to accept it… I was never the one/… Why was it there for me… but not for you?” Blah blah blah! Great tune, though!

5.) “Out Go the Lights”  

This tune is really fun! Another one with the classic Aerosmith sound; with lots of cowbells and harmonica! Might just be the best one on this album!

6.) “Legendary Child”

This one’s really good! Sounds like it’s straight off of 1987’s ‘Permanent Vacation’. AND they released a video for it… enjoy…

7.) “What Could Have Been Love”

They released a video for this one, too. It’s a beautiful song performed by a heartbroken man. Aerosmith ballads get to me more than most…

8.) “Street Jesus”

’70s Aerosmith sound. ’nuff said.

9.) “Can’t Stop Loving You” (featuring Carrie Underwood)

Anything featuring Carrie Underwood is noteworthy. Shit, she could sing the Russian National Anthem and make me horny! It’s another love song ballad but it’s quite beautiful. Look it up!

10.) “Lover Alot”

Fast paced Aerosmith…. Makes ya wanna do pushups! On drugs they couldn’t keep up!

11.) “We All Fall Down”  

Nice ballad… “I’m gonna take care of you and such….”

12.) “Freedom Fighter”

It’s Joe Perry singing! Sorry, Joe… you sound terrible!

13.) “Closer”

Meh… not bad!

14.) “Something”

Another Joe Perry tune… Sounds like he’s waterboarded to make him perform….

15.) “Another Last Goodbye”

I have no idea what ever happened to Steven Tyler to sing a song like this, but I have a good idea…

Hey
Give my heart a break
You say it’s you that loves me more
And then you kick and slam your door.
Hey
While you’re on your way
I want to thank you for the ride
And pull the thorn out of my sideAnd call me your baby.
I kissed away the tears you cried
And then you go and leave me
Pissed off and alone
It’s all about your sweet thing
Or maybe it’s the devil in your eyes
Yeah, what it takes to make this love survive

Another last goodbye
Another last goodbye

You crash and burn
With the pages turned
In your black book full of names
And then you throw your frozen heart
Out in somebody else’s flames
And it’s a low down dirty, dirty shame.
Don’t let this love slip through the tracks
I miss your claw marks on my back

And call me your baby
I kissed away the tears you cried
And then you go and leave me
Pissed off and alone
Yeah, It’s all about your sweet thing
Or maybe it’s the devil in your eyes
Yeah, what it takes to make this love survive

Another last goodbye
(Yeah, yeah, Yeah, yeah)

I believe I’ve always been in love with you
Though we got caught up in the sway
Never know in where we left
Been off the hook and out of hand
Sometimes I feel that love is a crime
‘Cause I remember, yeah, the very first time

You call me your baby
I kissed away the tears you cried
And then you go and leave me
Pissed off and alone
It’s all about your sweet thing
Or maybe it’s the devil in your eyes
Yeah, what it takes to make this love survive

Another last goodbye [x8]

 

Leave a Reply

