Hi-fi Friday ~ You Guys Ever Hear of Skylar Grey?

YAY! This is the first female artist I’m featuring on Hi-fi Friday… and what a woman she is!

A lot of people aren’t very familiar with Skylar Grey, born Holly Brook Hafermann in 1986, as most of her material thus far has been supporting other artists.

This Fort Minor tune, in which her vocals were featured, was a huge hit back in 2006. She’s also in the video. In lingerie. Check it out…

~ Where’d You Go ~

That tune, though it’s actually about a partner choosing a career over their family, also has elements of the dreaded long distance relationship… Something I’m all too familiar with. Why is it that two people, absolutely perfect for each other, but yet live so far apart, can’t be together for reasons beyond their control? UGH!! This life is cruel…

Anyway…

You all are probably familiar with Eminem’s “Love the Way You Lie.” Monster hit! Ya wanna know who wrote the lyrics and melody for all the versions of that song, including Rihanna’s Part II? Skylar Grey wrote that shit! Shame on Eminem for choosing Rihanna to perform it with him.

P Diddy, Puff Shizzle or whatever the hell he’s calling himself these days used Skylar’s vocals on one of his big hits “Coming Home”, only to perform it live with other female singers that weren’t her… The following video features a short interview with Skylar before she does her own version…

~ Coming Home ~

It almost seems like, for a while there, she was allowing these big time artists to use her… I dunno… I do know that the music industry can be brutal.

I’ve told her time and time again that if things get too tough, to swing by Brunswick and take a break with me to unwind like she did a couple years ago…

Skylar Grey Good Morning

She’s gonna be so pissed that I posted this picture! Sorry, Sky!

I believe that our brief tryst back in ’10 worked to her advantage, however. I think Eminem caught wind of it and became jealous because, instead of hiding her from everyone, he began to feature her a bit more prominently, this time in a Dr. Dre tune that flew up the charts…

~ I Need A Doctor ~

You’ll see Skylar at the 2:21 mark in the nurse’s outfit that I bought for her; and her angelic voice is heard throughout! She wrote portions of that song as well!

It looks like she may finally be on her way to building her own brand. She has recently released a few singles of her own material, one of which is on the soundtrack, “Frankenweenie Unleashed!”, that features tracks from and inspired by Tim Burton’s Frankenweenie, which has done pretty well at the box office.

AND… she has a studio album coming out in a few months. The first single “C’mon Let Me Ride” was released the other day… here’s the artwork for it…

Skylar Grey Ride

Hoo boy do I like that artwork! The song? Well, it’s quite a departure from her other stuff. I seriously think she’s sending me a message with this song. And I really didn’t have to read between the lines to realize that it’s a dirty message.

She wants me.

The fact that Eminem has a verse is just her trying to make me jealous. It’s not gonna work. Just call me, Sky!

This is not the real video for the song, it’s the lyric video, though it was released by Skylar. The real video is due out December 11th and I, for one, am looking forward to it!

Yes, dear, you can ride!

Enjoy your weekend, folks!

Leave a Reply

