ESPN’s Rob Parker is Racist and Needs to be Fired!

RGIII

Hearing about Washington Redskins’ future Hall of Fame QB Robert Griffin III’s sprained lateral collateral ligament, via what seem to be hourly updates, since Sunday has been driving me absolutely crazy…

NFL players are tearing, pulling and breaking stuff every week. I don’t need to hear about one particular injured player all the freaking time… especially when that player is coming to Cleveland Sunday to play my Browns. It scares me. One of two things will be mentioned at about 4:15 this Sunday afternoon.

  1. RGIII beats the Browns coming off a knee injury that occurred only a week ago. Embarrassing!
  2. Browns beat Redskins only because RGIII was coming off a knee injury that occurred only a week ago. Embarrassing!

Either way, we’re screwed!

Robert Griffin III is the definition of phenom. A very smart, physical athlete; a superstar! And he appears to be a fantastic young man off the field. Me being bothered by the coverage of his injury is just me being jealous that he’s not a Brown.

RGIII was in the news again today, but not because of his injury.. It was because of this douchebag:

That’s Rob Parker of ESPN’s First Take. Here’s the full transcript of the discussion on First Take. Check the link for the full context but, basically, he’s answering a question about why RGIII talks around the race issue and just wants to be a great NFL QB.

This is an interesting topic. For me, personally, just me, this throws up a red flag, what I keep hearing. And I don’t know who’s asking the questions, but we’ve heard a couple of times now of a black guy kind of distancing himself away from black people.

I understand the whole story of I just want to be the best. Nobody’s out on the field saying to themselves, I want to be the best black quarterback. You’re just playing football, right? You want to be the best, you want to throw the most touchdowns and have the most yards and win the most games. Nobody is [thinking] that.

But time and time we keep hearing this, so it just makes me wonder deeper about him. And I’ve talked to some people down in Washington D.C., friends of mine, who are around and at some of the press conferences, people I’ve known for a long time. But my question, which is just a straight honest question. Is he a brother, or is he a cornball brother?

What does that mean, Parker was asked.

Well, he’s black, he kind of does his thing, but he’s not really down with the cause, he’s not one of us. He’s kind of black, but he’s not really the guy you’d really want to hang out with, because he’s off to do something else.

Why is that your question, Parker was asked.

Well, because I want to find out about him. I don’t know, because I keep hearing these things. We all know he has a white fiancée. There was all this talk about he’s a Republican, which, there’s no information [about that] at all. I’m just trying to dig deeper as to why he has an issue. Because we did find out with Tiger Woods, Tiger Woods was like I’ve got black skin but don’t call me black. So people got to wondering about Tiger Woods early on.

Then Skip Bayless asked Parker about RGIII’s braids.

Now that’s different. To me, that’s very urban and makes you feel like…wearing braids, you’re a brother. You’re a brother if you’ve got braids on.

HOLY. FUCKING. SHIT!!!! As of about an hour ago, an ESPN spokesman said, “The comments were inappropriate and we are evaluating our next steps.”

There is nothing to evaluate, ESPN. Rob Parker should be fired IMMEDIATELY for talking like that.

ESPN’s Stephen A. Smith (a black man), who aggravates me to no end, had a perfect response to Parker’s drivel:

Well first of all let me say this: I’m uncomfortable with where we just went. RGIII, the ethnicity, the color of his fiancée is none of our business. It’s irrelevant. He can live his life any way he chooses. The braids that he has in his hair, that’s his business, that’s his life. I don’t judge someone’s blackness based on those kind of things. I just don’t do that. I’m not that kind of guy.

Kudos to you, Mr. Smith!

And do you remember, ESPN, the Rush Limbaugh debacle in which Rush was pressured to resign after saying the following about Donovan McNabb in ’03?

I don’t think he’s been that good from the get-go. I think what we’ve had here is a little social concern in the NFL. I think the media has been very desirous that a black quarterback do well. They’re interested in black coaches and black quarterbacks doing well. I think there’s a little hope invested in McNabb and he got a lot of credit for the performance of his team that he really didn’t deserve. The defense carried this team.

What Rush said about McNabb pales in comparison to what Rob Parker said about RGIII today.

Do the right thing ESPN. Fire this man.

Hug your children and love them every day

Leave a Reply

