Blake Shelton Can Kiss My Ass!

Miranda Lambert Boobs

I really don’t understand why people dedicate songs to each other. I mean, I understand why everybody does it, but what’s the point?

Obviously, most artists are able to write stuff that relays messages that most of us can’t. So we’ll look up a tune on YouTube and fire it off so that it can say something that we otherwise couldn’t.

Y’all gotta think about what songs you dedicate, however! There are some really meaningful songs out there that you can’t just forward to everyone!

Shit… I’ve retired some songs that I’ve dedicated to certain women. One of the most beautiful songs I ever dedicated was KISS’ Forever… That I made my wedding song because I thought that was what I was getting into back in August of 1995.

My (now) ex-wife had some country tune (I Swear by John Michael Montgomery) picked out for our “first” dance at our wedding reception and, being friends with the DJ, I slipped him Forever, on cassette, knowing that my songs’ lyrics were better than hers…

And they were!! But I’m not gonna dedicate that tune to any woman… ever! That was a major fail on my part…. but as they say, hindsight is 20/20!

Things change. People change their minds rather quickly nowadays. Why dedicate a song to someone when it’s pretty much meaningless and will ultimately be recycled for someone else?

Like this…

I’ve been a walking heartache
I’ve made a mess of me
The person that I’ve been lately
Ain’t who I wanna be

But you stay here right beside me
Watch as the storm blows through
And I need you

Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
And for when I think I’ve lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you

There’s more here than what were seeing
A divine conspiracy
That you, an angel lovely
Could somehow fall for me
You’ll always be love’s great martyr
And I’ll be the flattered fool
And I need you
Yeah!

God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
And for when I think I’ve lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you

On my own I’m only
Half of what I could be
I can’t do without you
We are stitched together
And what love has tethered
I pray we never undo

Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
And for when I think I’ve lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you, gave me you
He gave me you

It sort of hurts knowing that some dude’s probably listening to that song saying, “WOW,” just like I did back then….

Hell… maybe someday Blake will go all Taylor Swift on Miranda Lambert. Or vice versa! I’ll watch the Country Music Awards to see that!

Hug your children and love them every day

Leave a Reply

