Hi-fi Friday ~ KoЯn!

korn logo

Way back in 1994, I was the manager at an auto parts store, Forest City Auto Parts, out in tropical Eastlake, OH. One of my favorite employees was Rob, my driver/stock guy. He was a good dude. Sort of a hippie type; real laid back, a big music fan. He also busted his ass at work though, on the surface, he didn’t appear to be a hard worker. [Note to self: attempt to track Rob down on Facebook]

It was sort of taboo for us managers to fraternize with our sales guys, so I ended up spending a lot of time with Rob. Well, not that much time, but we got into the habit of going to lunch every day. Some of our lunches ended up being sales meetings because Rob had some good ideas, though he never wanted to be a sales guy.

The one day, while Rob and I were heading to Little Caesars for lunch, I had Tool in the cassette player (HA HA! Cassettes!), who Rob we were both fans of. He asked me if I’d ever heard of this up and coming band, KoЯn. I had not, so after lunch he ran to his truck and grabbed his KoЯn cassette so I could borrow it to take a listen.

I remember him telling me, “This is good shit to listen to when you’re in a bad mood and need to get lost in the music to reset your brain; it’s pretty angry and violent!”

Oh and it was! Here’s the first track off their original, self titled, album.

~ Blind ~

So when I’m having a bad day, or bad two weeks in this case, I turn to KoЯn to help reset my shit!

As KoЯn released more albums, unfortunately, they slowly became more mainstream and commercialized, which I didn’t necessarily like even though I like all their stuff!

Most recently they released an album, The Path of Totality, in which they worked with that Skrillex dude and came up with this…

~ Narcissistic Cannibal ~

It’s not bad… but it ain’t as good as their earlier stuff.

They also do a kick ass cover of Pink Floyd’s Another Brick in the Wall, which I’ve featured on here before…. because it’s so freakin’ awesome! You need to check it out!

~ Another Brick in the Wall (Parts 1,2 & 3) ~

Enjoy your weekend folks!

One response to “Hi-fi Friday ~ KoЯn!

Leave a Reply

