My Thoughts on the 55th Daytona 500…

Before I get into Sunday’s Daytona 500, I have some thoughts about Saturday’s Nationwide series race in which there occurred a horrific wreck at the conclusion. I may piss some people off here, but oh well…

Kyle Larson Daytona Crash

Depending on what news outlet you prefer, it’s been reported that anywhere from 17 to 33 spectators were injured when debris from (32) Kyle Larson’s car made its way through the catch fence. It sucks that even a single spectator was hurt, but it’s always possible. I truly hope that anyone injured because of the debris will be okay..

But dammit, when 3,600 pound cars are flying around the track at 200 mph, there’s a chance that someone outside of the competitors can be hurt if all hell breaks loose…. and all hell broke loose Saturday…

I believe it was a combination of unique circumstances that lead to the disaster…

  1. From what I can tell, Larson’s car ricocheted off a 1/2 dozen cars. When the last car hit him, he was facing the wrong way, with his nose against the rear quarter of another car. That combination basically catapulted his car spinning towards the catch fence. 
  2. In the picture above, you can see a crossbar in the catch fence above where the 32 is making impact. I believe this is either an access door in the fence or a camera position. Either way, I bet that area is weaker than other parts of the catch fence.
  3. I’ve seen a couple stories that the chassis of the 32 car may have been modified. Did that cause it to come apart the way it did, flinging tires and the engine through the fence?
  4. Okay. Watch the next video, taken by a fan in the stands. The exact area that the 32 car hits is, in fact, some sort of fence within the fence, where a camera is positioned. My point #2 is correct, and that is why the car penetrated the fence…

 So fans got hurt…. It sucks that they did, but didn’t they at least expect some sort of risk when going to watch auto racing? This ain’t stick and ball sports where you might suffer an injury from a stray football, baseball, basketball or puck… this is some big shit going really, really fucking fast that has the potential to crash. And you could get hurt…

Hell, it even says on the back of your ticket about the risk you assume by being a spectator…

I’ve been to NASCAR and NHRA races and on every lap or every pass I sort of cringe.. hoping I don’t get decapitated by a wheel or wing or worse, a flying Tony Stewart….

But fans injured in Saturday’s wreck are fixin’ to sue NASCAR and Daytona…. Ya know what? Fuck you all with a big ass piston! You knew of a potential risk going in…

As far as the Daytona 500 on Sunday went…. At first blush I thought it was pretty boring. Nobody wanted to race and nobody got hurt! In retrospect I believe that’s all good. All the drivers just chased each other around the track…. The ending was somewhat exciting… though I hated that Jimmie Johnson won it….

But NASCAR will lose me as a fan if that’s how it’s gonna go this year…

 More to come…. I’m just hungry right now and tired of writing….

Leave a Reply

