Hi-fi Friday! Tesla… one of the Great Underrateds!

Tesla

Tesla is an odd sort of band that never really fit in when they hit the scene in 1986, in the midst if the hair/glam band era. They’ve always been a t-shirt and jeans band, their music falling under the hard rock genre… driven by a fantastic mix of acoustic and electric guitarin’, topped off by the interesting vocals of Jeff Kieth…

I was immediately a fan upon hearing their first big hit…

~ Little Suzi ~

Tesla fun fact: They derived the name of the band, some album and song titles, and even some of their song content from events relating to Serbian-American inventor and electrical engineer Nikola Tesla.

Nikola Tesla

One of these days I’m gonna write about Nikola Tesla, as he’s a fascinating man who was essentially fucked over by Thomas Edison… But right now we’re talkin’ about the band Tesla, so here’s their ode to Mr. Tesla…

~ Edison’s Medicine ~

I’ve gotta include the lyrics for this one, because it’s a little education on Nikola Tesla…

You’re guilty of crime in the first degree,
Second and third as well.
My jury finds you’ll be serving your time
When you go straight to hell.

‘Cause he was Lord of the Lightning,
Though “socially fright’ning”,
But never out to sell.

Their nickels and pence
Meant more than did sense,
And not the sensible thing.

Nor did the man outta time, man outta time.
Thought you was crazy. You was one of a kind.
Man outta time, man outta time.
All along, world was wrong. You was right.

All that he saw, all he conceived,
They just could not believe.
Steinmetz and Twain were friends that remained,
Along with number three.
He was electromagnetic, completely kinetic,
“New Wizard of the West.”
But they swindled and whined that he wasn’t our kind,
And said Edison knew best.

He was the man outta time, man outta time.
Thought you was crazy. You was one of a kind.
Man outta time, man outta time.
Said you was outta your mind!

You took a shot and it did you in.
Edison’s medicine.
You played your cards, but you couldn’t win.
Edison’s medicine.

I spent twelve years of hard time,
More like the best years of my life.
Never heard or read a single word
About “the man” and his “wicked mind.”
They’ll sell you on Marconi.
Familiar, but a phony.
Story goes they sold their souls
And swore that you’d never know…

About the man outta time, man outta time.
Thought you was crazy. You was one of a kind.
Man outta time, man outta time.
Swore you was outta your mind!

You took a shot and it did you in.
Edison’s medicine.
You played your cards, but you couldn’t win.
Edison’s medicine.

Tesla also did well in the love song department as one of their bigger hits was titled, well…

~ Love Song ~

And that’s a fantastic, beautiful song….

When I think of Tesla, I always remember back to April 2nd of 2010, the day that my now ex-wife reamed me out for stopping at the bar, after a half work day for Good Friday, with my friends from work instead of going home to do yardwork. Yeah… I lost it! After almost fifteen years of marriage, and four years of knowing, since ’06,  that she was unfaithful to me with at least a couple different men…. my mentality changed and I refused to get walked on by her or anyone else ever again. My mind was made up… And when I left the Brunswick Winking Lizard that day, at 3:38 pm, I got in my car and this Tesla tune was just beginning…

~ Changes ~

Did Tesla push me in the direction of divorce? Nah… I had already decided… It’s just really weird that that song came on at that moment… Maybe my late sister, Michelle, picked an appropriate song for me right then!

A few months later, I reconnected with this young lady I had a huge crush on back in high school…. And now Tesla has buried the bitter with the sweet with this….

~ What You Give ~

And their ultimate love song remains to be the following….

I’m missin’ me some Pennsylvania girls right now…

Enjoy the rest of your weekend folks!

2 responses to “Hi-fi Friday! Tesla… one of the Great Underrateds!

  1. Love me some Tesla:) Thanks for the reminder of a great band!

  2. Glad I can be of service! And thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

