Three Years Ago Today…

Satan

If y’all don’t like me airing my dirty laundry, then go check out ESPN or the latest news about North Korea preparing to nuke Austin, Texas (get out while you can, Pat!)

Three years ago today, I got a phone call at 12:10 pm…

HER: What are you doing?

ME: We had a half day of work for Good Friday, so we’re heading up to Winking Lizard for a few drinks and some wings.

HER: It’s nice outside, I thought you were gonna go home and do yardwork?

ME: I’m gonna take care of that… in a couple hours, though, if that’s alright.

HER: (Yelling) IT’S NOT ALRIGHT! YOU NEED TO PICK UP THE KIDS AND GO HOME AND WORK IN THE YARD!

ME: I hung up the phone…

Several additional nasty phone calls followed, all with myself on the receiving end.

That was April 2nd, 2010…

After 5,333 days, or almost 15 years, of marriage… I was done getting treated like a piece of shit…

What did I do wrong? I have no answer as I still have no clue. I busted my ass for my family! She and I got married in August of ’95 and Alexis came in April of ’97. Most of my friends had been chased off by her before Alexis was born. I’ve always worked hard, but when it came down to it I picked up a second job, at the Garfield Heights Home Depot in August of 2000, when our second daughter, Brooke, was born, to help cover the ($15,000 a year) day care costs.

I would work from 8-5 at my full time job, come home to fix dinner, then go work at Home Depot from 7-midnight; 3 days a week. I also worked full weekends at Home Depot, so for five years I worked 71 hours a week and missed out on Alexis growing up from age 3-8 and Brooke from birth to 5… I missed trips to the zoo. Birthday parties… I missed a lot of shit…

Through all that, in my spare time I took care of the kids, the yard, the house and built a beautiful deck on the back of “her” house…

To support our family and the added financial strain of multiple children, she fought against any additional work and merely continued to work 40 hours a week and was too tired for any family activity after her grueling 8 hour days… and weekends off…

At some time in ’05 we moved to Brunswick and I transferred to the Brunswick Home Depot as an appliance salesman… for 32 hours a week… in addition to my shitty full time job at the time…

In February of ’06, everything changed… my buddy Frank The Mayor of Funtown, referred me for my current job. I was excited because, based on the figures I was told, I wouldn’t have to work two jobs any more! So I quit my Home Depot job, accepted my current job, and went to Daytona for the week to enjoy some racing…

On Valentine’s Day (2/14/06) of ’06, we were all drivin’ to Daytona, and my wife blew me off when I called to make sure she got the flowers I’d sent. I later found out, through multiple sources, that she was “friends” with some dude…

Of course she denies this…. I still don’t get it…

And, recently, she’s messed with a lot of legal aspects of our agreements… so we shall see…

More of that legal stuff coming….

2 responses to “Three Years Ago Today…

  1. I had to give this cat picture to my mom.. she loves cat and thought it was adorable.. thanks again for the picture

Leave a Reply

