Hi-fi Friday ~ Primus!

Frizzle fry

Back on March 23rd of 1994 I went out to the old Richfield Coliseum for a Rush show. Rush is awesome! That was one of the best live shows I’ve seen to date.

By the way, one of my favorite Rush tunes is one of their less popular. Check it out…

~ Nobody’s Hero ~

 

Prior to the show, however, was this opening band I’d never heard of called Primus.

Primus is a very interesting trio (Rush is a trio as well, in case you weren’t aware) and their music is all jacked up. Check it out:

~ Too Many Puppies ~

 

That’s from their debut album, Frizzle Fry. Not sure if you can, but I certainly can’t peg a genre on them! They’ve been described as alternative rock, alternative metal, experimental rock, funk metal, and progressive metal.

Awesome bassist and lead vocalist of Primus, Les Claypool, described their music as psychedelic polka!

Whatever ya want to call their music, it definitely caught my attention back then and I’ve been a big fan ever since.

Claypool’s bass is some of the best I’ve ever heard… as evidenced in this one…

~ Tommy The Cat ~

 

That’s from their second album, Sailing the Seas of Cheese.

One of their more popular tunes came out in 1995, on their album Tales from the Punchbowl,  and got a ton of airplay… it is this:

~ Wynona’s Big Brown Beaver ~

 

Great stuff, no?

Anyway, I found out the other day that Primus is coming to Cleveland! On May 22nd they’ll be at the Nautica Pavilion…

I gotta go to this show!

Happy Friday, folks!

Leave a Reply

